Let’s Go.

candle

Dr. Beardhussein Wants To Philosophize For A Bit.

It’s 3:07 on the morning of Thursday, December 6th, 2007.

I’ve spent the last hour or so talking to my very good friend talk about her current romantic dilemmas. Apparently, a situation she’s in is eerily reminiscent of a particularly trying time in her life.

Only problem is, she’s also my ex–and the particularly trying time she spoke of, while a decade old, had some not-so-great effects on me. Now I’m feeling like the Chopped Liver Champion of the World because I am a footnote to a much grander tale.

At the risk of upsetting Rey’s Conscience or any of the other people that have reached out, I’m gonna wax poetic for a bit here and see what I can come up with.

Walk with me.

It’s funny how things work sometimes.

I’m 27 years old, and the heartache I am referring to in the intro italics happened over 10 years ago. Some of it was 11 and 12 years ago. That doesn’t stop it from still digging at me and hurting a bit all these years later.

What is it about that first bit of trauma, that first bit of heartache and devestation that manages to stay with us for the rest of our lives? Is it a gift? Or a curse?

Think about it.

Even the hardest [||], most thugged out E-Gangster in the world has at least 1 (one) story of a girl that wronged him.

Even the most independent of strong-ass women has at least 1 (one) story of a guy that wronged her. (and switch the pronouns or whatever if you’re gay).

At some point, we’ve all been faced with a bit of fuckery. We’ve all believed in someone that hurt us. We’ve all had people come crashing down off the pedestal we put them on. We’ve all been betrayed. We’ve all had people piss in our ears and tell us it’s rain.

The question is: What in the hell can we do about it?

I mean, I’m sure runimating in a blog doesn’t help. Concordantly, I’m sure that drinking or “piffing” (stupidest term for marijuana ever) the pain into a dull headache doesn’t help either.

I suppose the real challenge is just accepting the agony and torment of whatever happens to you with some kinda grace and get on with your day.

I suppose there will always be nights like tonite when, even tho’ things are going great for me, I can still get upset at what went wrong with the first girl I was ever in love with.

It’s funny how those things stick with us, even after getting older, (allegedly) wiser, and dealing with other heartaches.

***

Life is a fickle fucker sometimes, IATSoldiers. Until we find the reason for all this, I guess we can only do our part to not fuck up somebody else’s day.

‘Til then, I guess it’s up to us to find joy in the little tiny things we choose to ignore when the big things are bothering us. For example, I’m currently unemployed. Our rent is the only one of our bills that we pay in full every month. Everything else gets juggled around worse than the Aftermath Entertainment Release Schedule.

But.

That doesn’t stop me from enjoying such simple pleasures as the stars shining on a cold-ass December night.

I might be chronically single, but that doesn’t stop me from still holding onto hope that one day I’m gonna meet a good ass woman.

I might have a size 17 3/4 fitted, but ya know what? I still look in the mirror after a shave and a haircut (say it…saaayyyy it..) and go, “Woo! I’m gonna hurt some feelings tonite!”.

The world might be a big ball of fuckery where no matter what we do The Man or The Enemy will snipe and bite at us all danged day long. There might be 247 D. Billz or BKScribe conspiracies out there. We might all be headed for a horrible cataclysmic race war where Jesus and Allah step in to smite the wicked. Worse than that, Jim Jones might actually release another single.

But.

That isn’t gonna stop me from being a corny fuck that will gladly raise his middle finger to all the posturing, posing, holier-than-thou, cynical, sarcastic shitheads that do their best to mock all that’s good and decent and innocent and fun in this world.

I mean, good God, man. This world is fucked up, and we really only have two choices:

1- Change it for the better.

2- Make it get worse.

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m gonna do my part to do the former, even if all I can do is give the faithful readers of this page a couple minutes of encouragement, or advice, or entertainment.

Life is fucking difficult…but it ain’t that serious.

***

Call Reynolds, cuz it’s a Wrap

I hope this blog finds all of my loyal IATSoldiers well, and in the pursuit of true happiness. In pursuit of life and leisure that has more to do with positive, righteous self-fulfillment…

…than just stunting on somebody cuz you copped some Lime Green Nikes.

Thanks for checking in,

–RTH

Extra Credit- Have some fun. Don’t analyze these videos. Just watch them and remember how much fun these songs and clips were when they first came out.

13 Responses to “Let’s Go.”

  1. buddyholly Says:

    y’all respect the man who got shot/i respect the shooter! (c)Hov

  2. reythehussein Says:

    Umm… I don’t get how that line applies here, but thanks for checking in.

    No disrespect.

  3. boogie Says:

    This is in response 2 the world being fucked up.

    U right the world is fucked and the main reason is religion imo. All religion does is seperate us from each other, like lightskin and dark skin slaves, and build a dislike to the other(religion that is). if u read the bible no1 had any religion or last names depicting their oneness, but its also a lot u can’t take from the bible because the bible is a collection of stories supposedly the ultimate truth, but u then have seperate verions of the truth, (which is) impossible (because) the truth is supposed to be empirical, meaning it can be tested 2 be true– and not 2 much in the world can stand up 2 that truth. once u get older u get taught different so-called truths like we came from monkeys. the next time a dumb ass professor try 2 sell u that one, ask them y is there are still monkeys, cause monkeys fuck n have monkeys not people, lol. but seriously, (did) u know that male deer secrete a hormone out their body that is euphoric to them once they smell and they run themselves 2 death trying 2 find that source (of the smell) when the entire time its inside of them. the point is, 4get religion. everything u looking 4 is inside of u. the soul and the spirit make that stronger. meditate on it. take a journey to it and realise ur oneness with god. I refer to jesus as my brother because he is. he was a man like all others, the difference (is that) he knew his purpose and god procreated 4 him(begotten). don’t be the deer and run around searching (outside) for what’s (already) inside, cause people as well as religion will let u down because it is knowledge and pleasure and a seeking of understanding the world outside and not the one within.

    People will let u down but do (you maybe) really torment over the fact that in some way u let ur self down? Spoken by someone who has had their heart broken also but never again, hopefully lol.

  4. reythehussein Says:

    Hmm.. Well, Mr. or Mrs. Boogie–That’s a helluva a point.

    First, thank you for checking in and for leaving such a good comment.

    Second, I tend to agree with a lot of what you said. The last few parts are very, very true. T’be honest, that’s the worst part–the most difficult part–forgiving myself for letting go of certain opportunities.

    Thanks again for philosophizing with me.

    –Rey

    PS- I tried to add punctuation and inflections to your comment as best I could. I liked it a lot and wanted to make it a little easier to read, absolutely no disrespect intended. (for real “no disrespect”, not “Boondocks” no disrespect)

  5. Mark Twain Fame Says:

    IATSoldier representer!…

    very good blog Reymund, and I think that is the ebst wya to getpast something, jeez realize the situation, it happened, its in the past, and you still ahve the future to make better/look forward to/hope for. Every Day is A Battle.

    The course of free love never runs smooth. I suppose we have all tried it. (c) MT

    also go head and make Ramsay, Louis, and Johhny make ya day better…ya Emo ass sucka…ha, j/k

    peace.

  6. Rey's Conscience Says:

    tsk, tsk….

    (none)

  7. reythehussein Says:

    @ MTF- Yep, that’s what I’m trying to do. I’ve got a lot of good things headed my way and I don’t wanna get bogged down with old shit.

    @ Rey’s Conscience– Hey! I’ve been paying attention! This wasn’t bad at all!

    Thanks to both for Checking in!

  8. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Thats it Reymundo. Learn from shit that has hurt you and then keep on trucking. At then end of the day it is better to have love and lost than to have never loved at all.

  9. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    wow, good post rey..u seem to be at your best after 1am..lol..keep your head up

  10. reythehussein Says:

    @ EngRep– Yes sir. I’m in the business of untangling all the knots I’ve acquired over the years. It’s baby steps, but I’m dealing pretty well.

    @ LL– Heh.. I keep late hours indeed. I appreciate you keeping up with my posts!

    Thanks to both for checking in!

  11. El Gringo Colombiano Says:

    Rey,

    I checked back in & browsed ur blog.

    I see that you are extensively & appropriately using the emoticon [||]

    As the inventor of [||], I want to thank you once again for being a major force in envangelizing [||] over the internets.

    Peace

    El Gringo Colombiano

  12. reythehussein Says:

    @ The Colombian Cracka–

    No problem, Capitan. Your inventionis both clever, and a time savor. Kudos.

    [||]

    –Rey

  13. Mark Twain Fame Says:

    For the Awesomemness List!

    I got a few for you Rey.

    Corny, Cult 80’s and 90’s movies like Maximum Overdrive, Attack of the killer Tomatoes, Gremlins, Tremors, Goonies, Monster Squad.

    also John Carpenter movies (and the music) from the 70’s and 80’s–Assault on Prencinct 13, Halloween, The Fog, Esacpe From New York, Christine, Big Trouble in Little China.

    oh! also Wendy’s Frosty’s,

    Kitchen Nightmares, Dirty Jobs, House on TV.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

