The Samuel L. Jackson Rule

slj as Mace Windu

ReyTheHussein Explains His “Stan”ism, motherfuckers.

I had this idea for a few days now.

Plus, it keeps up the streak of “Star Wars” pictures. Awww Yeeeaahh.

Enjoy.

When I saw Samuel L. Jackson in “Pulp Fiction”, a life-long Stan-ism began. Between the cool way he handles his business, the cool gun he whipped around, and his powerful method of speaking, and his overall bad assness, I had myself a new (anti)Hero.

After that, I made it a point to check out Sam Jackson’s other stuff, based on that performance alone. “Changing Lanes” con Ben Affleck? Check. “Freedomland”? Check. “Jackie Brown”? Check. “The Incredibles?” (he was “Frozone”) Check.  Plus, he was Mace friggin’ Windu, 2nd baddest Jedi Knight on the planet. Hate on the prequels all you want, you assholes, but Mace Windu did not disappoint.

So, from his landmark performance in “Pulp Fiction” was born a simple rule. The “Sam Jackson” rule states: “Because ___ was so awesome in ___, I’m gonna support them and their career for as long as they be doing what theys be doin’.” It applies to movies and music…Not so much TV shows, but that’s cuz 85% of what’s on TV is tear-i-bull.

Without further ado, here is Uncle The Hussein’s list of Actors and Musicians that have been given “Sam Jackson Rule” status.

Samuel L. Jackson- Duh.
Flick what started it all- “Pulp Fiction”. ‘Nuff Said.

Examples of the rule in effect- “Room 1408” scared the ever-loving shit out of me, but I saw it cuz he was in it. “Snakes on a Plane” was awesomely bad, but if like, Young Jeezy or some such was in it, I wouldn’t have seen it.

Ryan Reynolds- Yeppers.
Flick what started it all- “National Lampoon’s Van Wilder”. Man, I still wanna be Van Wilder. He was the coolest guy ever, and he got away with wacky schemes, and hooked up with hot chicks, and threw awesome parties, but he was also cool enough to hang with and build up the nerds, the fatties, and the Tajses.

Examples of the rule in effect- “Just Friends”, an only kiiinda funny story about a formerly fat kid all grown up and trying to woo his high school crush. “Waiting” was pretty funny, but RyRey’s [||] presence in it made it better, and his speech trying to justify sleeping with a hot 17 year old was HI-larious. “Blade Trinity” was pretty good too, but RyRey talkin’ shit at Parker Posey and fighting with Triple H made it awesome. Plus! He was on an episode of Scrubs, the season finale of Season 2. Awesomeness meets Awesomeness!

Joe Budden- I am the crowned prince of Joe Budden stans, and anyone that’s ever been around for a Budden thread on www.nahright.com knows that I’ll defend Joey every day all day. Oh yeah, and that’s B-U-D-D-E-N!

Album what started it all- Um, Pretty much the only album he ever put out. At that point in my life, my family was in the middle of Citi-fucking-Bank trying to steal our house from us, and the last thing I wanted to hear was 50 Cent’s stupid ass rapping about his money or his status as a P.I.M.P.. I couldn’t relate to that bullshit, but I could relate to a guy from Jersey City (where I spent a few summers growing up) trying to deal with depression and genuine angst. I liked that the guy was talking about himself and his situations honestly, and tracks like “Ten Minutes” and “Walk With Me” hit me like a ton of bricks. (not literally, cuz I’d be dead..sillies). When the album was over I wanted more music from this guy, to see if he makes it out of the black…cuz then that would give me hope that I could too. Fast forward 4 years later AND I’M STILL FUCKING WAITING! GET OFF YOUR ASS, MR. CARTER!

Examples of the rule in effect- Um, Mood Muzik 1 & 2, “Broken Wings Freestyle”, the billion arguments me and Ty (http://newjerseydrive.wordpress.com) have gotten into with other people about Joey’s talent, staying my ass at www.joebudden.org listening to his catalogue, erasing my entire MySpace profile and replacing it with the lyrics to “Whatever it takes” during a difficult time, and basically keeping the proverbial light on for any new material he might make.

Kanye West- Duh.

Song What Started it all- “Through The Wire”. Anyone that read my review of Kanye West’s “Graduation” knows how I feel about that. Anyone who didn’t read it should fuckin’ read it.

Examples of the rule in effect- I’m on my 3rd copy of “The College Dropout”, I bought “Late Registration” the day it came out, I copped “Graduation” before work on the day it came out–and made myself late for work in the process. Not to mention downloading or checking out anything he might be rapping on.

The Rock- Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson was so danged entertaining in the WWF/WWE that you know any project the guy is associated with is gonna be worth checking out.

Flick What Started It All- Probably any one of his promos (in-ring speeches) from like late 1997-2001.

Examples of the rule in effect- I’ve seen every one of his movies in the theater. For those keeping count, that’s “The Mummy Returns”, “The Scorpion King”, “The Rundown”, “Walking Tall”, “Be Cool”, “Doom”, and “Gridiron Gang”. To answer your next question, yes, I will be seeing the movie he has coming out on Friday, “The Game Plan”.

Other Notables: I own every Puff Daddy/P. Diddy/Diddy album ever made–and that’ll continue… Fall Out Boy–I paid $13 for their first album, a 9 song LP of “Demo” quality material, and I proudly own their whole catalogue (sorry Thor) except for that acoustic one… Scrubs— I’ve seen every episode from seasons 1-5 at least twice, and thanks to Comedy Central, I’m able to catch up on Season 6 now. (I see you Busta!)… I check out MekaSoul’s blog at www.hiphopdx.com every day, and everyday I’m impressed. Sometimes I couldn’t disagree more, but dude is the truth… The homey IFux (http://ifux.blogspot.com) is the best blogger out there right now. Yeah, I said it. He stays with sports, music, and pop culture news, plus he’s not afraid to get personal… Nas, Talib Kweli, Jay-Z, The Game, Bubba Sparxxx all have guaranteed purchases from me from now until they quit… Quentin Tarantino is a flippin’ genius, and I’ll see anything he directs… and George Lucas is awesome, absolutely awesome.

***

Call Reynolds (not Ryan), Cuz it’s a Wrap.

So that’s the Samuel L. Jackson rule. The movie guys are more entertaining, but the music guys have all helped me figure out stuff that I couldn’t have figured out on my own, or they provided a pick-me-up during really tough times, and I know that they’ll probably never read this, nevermind actually be somewhere I’m at in order for me to say thank you, but *shrug* Such is the Sam Jackson rule, and such is my standom. You don’t really forget about the people who help you thru difficult times, whether they knew they helped out or not.

***

Are you asking me for a CHAAALLLLLEEEENNNNGGGEEEE????

Yes I am. What your ol’ pal ReyTheHussein would like is to know is what artists, directors, or actors/actresses make your “No Questions Asked, I’m Checking Their New Ish Out!” list?

Leave your own Sam Jackson Rule list in the comments section and we’ll chop it up.

–RTH

18 Responses to “The Samuel L. Jackson Rule”

  1. Phuque Says:

    Phuque’s stanism is limited to Marvel comic movies…smh @ myself for paying to see “Punisher” in the theater.

    I lost.

  2. Dr.Fuxie Teacher of Etherology Says:

    Damn Homie I am not even blogging on a regular basis anymore. Sheesh but the love is greatly appreciated. I wish I wasnt at work so much because when I used to be able to go on WordPress and Blogspot it made my day go by quickly just blogging shit up. Anyways *e-drinks* on me! THIS COMMENT WAS PRETTY FUNNY, I WISH I HAD HATERS LIKE THIS

    whaddup local punks sissy’s and fags, bol you might wanna keep your big ass up out these mexican spots you already suffer from obeisity,why dont you take some time out to look up these place Gold,Ballys, Sport and Health, the are health clubs and gyms you fat fuck, talking bout some goddamn food….thats why your big ass gonna be stuck behind the computer dreaming of meg white and maggie gylenhall and not getting no real broads cuz you a fat lazy bastard

    Gunnery Sergeant Hartman:Full Metal Jacket
    “Are you quitting on me? Well, are you? Then quit, you slimy fucking walrus-looking piece of shit. Get the fuck off of my obstacle. Get the fuck down off of my obstacle. Now. Move it. I’m going to rip your balls off, so you cannot contaminate the rest of the world. I will motivate you”

  3. Dr.Fuxie Teacher of Etherology Says:

    Ohh and my standom is too long but lets give it a go

    Bilal
    Jigga
    Nas
    GHOSTFace
    Jordan Sneakers
    Girls with nice butts
    Bud Light Beer
    Clive Owen
    Spike Lee Joints
    DON Julio Tequila
    Going RawDawg ………….ANyways you catch my drift

  4. KonishiwaBitches Says:

    i agree with most but “Dwayne” ain’t an actor? hell’nah i still want my bread for that Doom movie, what a waste of my life watching that shit

  5. reythehussein Says:

    In Reverse: @ KonishiwaBitches– “Doom” was pretty awful, but it was entertaining. Plus, it lead to a game where me and my friends would go, “Doom was better than having a girl kick you in the balls, but it wasn’t as good as having a car run over your foot.” Try it with your friends, you can get really creative with it.

    @ Fuxito– Just paying credit where it’s due, potna. lol @ the ether aimed at Ashlee.. Also, that’s not a bad list, even if I’d rather lose my keys than ever purchase any Air Jordan stuff.

    @ Phuque– I saw that in the theater. Not terrible, but The Punisher isn’t a great guy to make a movie about.. no real cool powers, just a t-shirt really.

    Thanks to all for stopping by!

  6. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    Good Post Rey-Mondo…….

    Fuck i got so many Sammy J rules but here goes:

    J.D, Turk & Dr Cox

    Martin Scorsese

    Paul Rudd & Will Ferrel two of the funniest men on the planet…

    Edward Norton, Morgan Freeman & Kevin Bacon these people dont make bad films (no footloose)

    And fucking Sport movies of any kind, it could be about under-water hand-gliding i dont give a fuck i’m watching it!!

    Music:

    Wu-Tang
    Nas
    Premo
    Cormega
    Arctic Monkeys(you need to listen to these boys Rey)

  7. T DOT Says:

    Movies: Quentin (Grindhouse at mid-night opening day),
    Sam Jackson (It’s almost a prerequisite if you like Quentin)
    Denzel (American Gangster? Shit, get that oscar ready.),
    Morgan Freeman (If Sam is the badass, and Denzel is the middle road, Morgan is the good guy.)
    Spike Lee (I went to see inside man even tho I got the bootleg before it was released in theaters.)

    Music:
    Kanye-Affiliated (We’re e-brothers because of this.)
    Jigga (“I’m the illest aggin doin’ it till you prove me wrong… do you believe? It’s hova the god…”)
    Alicia Keys (I’m waiting for that day to give my granddaughter “Songs in A Minor” on CD.)
    Nas
    Clipse
    Ghostface
    Little Brother

  8. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    Here is the link for Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace, they are all on youtube:

  9. benhameen Says:

    The Rock says thanks for this post and for recognizing The Rocks utter genius in everything the Rock does

  10. thoreauly77 Says:

    i think the chances of your roody-poo-candy-ass getting checked in to the smack-down hotel are considerably lessened, but that i sno reason to enjoy the rock…. or fall out boy damnit. fall out boy would rather make out with their grandfathers anyway. i swear, they said it; its the truth.

    great post. those that get the sam j pass =

    * wes anderson flicks (bottle rocket, rushmore, royal tenenbaums, etc)
    * de niro flicks, directed, acted in or produced . fuck what anyone says.
    * anything with steve buscemi. seen trees lounge? if you are a drinker, this is a must. also, reservoir dogs like a motherfucker.
    * books! bukowski, fante, hemingway, vonnegut, phillp k. dick, saroyan, sherman alexi, richard brautigan, sylvia plath, cervantes, frantz fanon, herman hesse… if you havent read any of these authors, you get a late pass. use it.
    * serengeti- a man with more styles that an east african mile. this chicago MC does it all from straight-up boom-bap (noticeably negro) to entire freestyle records (noodle arm whimsy) to experimental post-apocalypytic-hop (serengeti and polyphonic) to singer-song-writer (gasoline rainbows). not to be slept on, this guy is the truth.
    * ian fay aka thoreauly77 aka plasticsquirtguns. if you dont know, now you know.

    rey: UNO!

  11. Big Homie Says:

    Good post Rey

  12. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Steve Buscemi (I see ya Thor)
    Chris Tucker (Been a fan since Friday)
    Quentin Tarantino
    Will Ferrell
    Kings of Leon
    Big Poppa
    Anything Wu Tang
    Klashnekoff
    Ricky Gervais
    Tottenham Hotspur FC

  13. The XFacta Says:

    Joe Budden(S) is garbage!

  14. The XFacta Says:

    Yo Rey change my URL in your blogroll

    http://cyberthugs.wordpress.com

  15. superjew Says:

    nas and lucas are deity status for me as well. budden is more like a prophet. and tarantino is like moses of movies. good post

  16. *Ghostrides the Stone Cold Stunner* [||] « It ain’t that serious Says:

    […] in the role of “The Girl”. Throw in another complete Bad Ass performance from Mr. Samuel L. Jackson and a cool English sidekick (*daps EngRep*), and you’ve got yourself an entertaining popcorn […]

  17. Summer Movie Snoozin’, er, Season 2010 Wrap-Up « It ain’t that serious Says:

    […] funny. Unlike Paul Rudd, Seth Rogen, Jason Segel and Jay Baruchel, Jonah Hill doesn’t have “Samuel L. Jackson Rule” status. So, while I was looking forward to seeing it, I was prepared to be let down. Oh Rey of little […]

  18. Free CUDA Video Converter download Says:

    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for great info I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

