*Ghostrides The DeLorean*

debarge

Let’s Talk About 80s Music, Shall We?

So it’s Saturday nite, almost 11:30pm. This is that time of the nite for me when I usually have two choices. Flip channels before going on the computer before bed, or go on the computer first, THEN flip channels before going on the computer before bed.

As you can see, I’ve opted for the second choice. This should be fun.

I have a couple of friends that are huge fans of 80s music. No, not the good 80s music. I’m talking about the Flock Of Seagulls, the Hall and Oates (don’t even), the Culture Club.. you know, the One Hit Wonder tripe they play on those “Awesome 80s” infomercials at like 3 in the morning.

I’m not a big fan of that kind of music. I mean, sure, that cheesy synth stuff has come back into popular music with some success. Both The Killers and Kanye West have gone synth-happy and I’ve enjoyed it. However, just because it’s working a bit now doesn’t mean it was working all the friggin’ time then.

Don’t get me wrong, I like a bunch of Music That Came Out In The 80s, but I wouldn’t classify myself as someone that likes “80s Music”. I mean, you had Madonna, Prince, Michael Jackson, Genesis, and countless others make some good music without being really weird or overly european or all cyborg-androgynous. (Mind you, MiJac was still super-dope back then, and Prince is gully as fuck–don’t let the poiple fool you)..

So, that being said, here’s a list (yay for lists!) of some songs from the 80s that kick 8 tons of ass. I’m sure there are a lot of other notables I’m going to miss, but if you feel that strongly about them, keep two things in mind:

I- Plenty of room on the interweb to create your own lists.

II-It ain’t that serious.

Without further ado:

1- El Debarge, Rhythm of the Night- Ah yes. We come to the first blatant Motown plug featured in the seminal 80s flick, Berry Gordy’s The Last Dragon. Like the movie from whence it came, this song is awesome. El Debarge is just chillin’ in the car, then he’s all dancing in the streets and junk. The beat is f’n bouncy fun, and anybody born between 1978 and 1982 knows at least part of the lyrics/chorus. If this song has been sampled, I haven’t heard it.

Peep Disssssss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-7T4FuJJO1E

2- Deniece Williams, Let’s Hear It For The Boy- First off, This song doesn’t need a disclaimer because half of the coolest things in the 80s were very…um…liberal. I mean, seriously, it’d be easier to just call it “The 80s [||]”. Anyway, This song is from the movie, Footloose, which I think I might’ve seen even tho’ I don’t really remember it. (Pops is a movie buff). Ya’ll know the drill: Town bans dancing, Kevin Bacon, “Everybody get loose, Footloose, kick off your sunday shoes”, etc. I guess this is the other big hit off the soundtrack. It’s got that 80s Casio (no swizz beatz) bounce to it that’s still pleasant 24 years later. Plus, like #1 on our list, everybody knows the words. Sure, it’s not the manliest chorus in the world, but if you’re bugging out, few songs provide lyrics as fun as: “He might not be a romeo, but he’s my lovin’ one man show, whoa-whoa-whoa-Whoa! LET’S HEAR IT FOR THE BOOYYYYY!” Awwww yeaaahhh.

Peep Disssssss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzwvYaZ99fM

3- Genesis, Land of Confusion- What I’m about to say is going to hurt and shock many of my loyal readers/lurkers. *ahem* This video is the greatest video of all time. Any genre, any country, any land. That means it’s better than all of Michael Jackson’s videos, any of the Hitmen-Era Bad Boy videos, any of those stupid “Gorillaz” videos, better than The Roots’ “What We Do” video.  I mean, granted, Janet Jackson’s “If” video practically stole my virginity, but in terms of non-puberty inducing videos, this is the end all be all. Um…Pause. Anyway, Phil Collins is the absolute shit, and Genesis has done a ton of cool songs. The beat to this song is definitely aggressive content. Programmed 80s drums with some crunchy guitars and some well placed synths all kicked ass. The lyrics on this song were edgy and confrontational, and Phil Collins emotes the fuck out of them. The chorus is the ultimate in sing-along awesomeness. Then there’s the video. Ya know what? I’m not even gonna explain it. I couldn’t do it justice if I tried. Just clicka da link. All in all, this is a song with clanking balls of steel. So clankeriffic, that I won’t even put in a disclaimer.

Peep Disssssss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gBdUz_IJ4VA

4- Tiffany, I Think We’re Alone Now & Belinda Carlisle, Heaven is a Place On Earth (yep, a tie)- When I was in grades 1 thru like 3, my mom lived one county over from me. She would pick up me and my brother (I don’t think I’ve given him a nickname yet…) and we’d drive the 30 minutes or so, and one or both of these songs would be on the radio. Both songs really stuck with me on account of how genuine and sweet they seemed. Even ’til this day, with my current state of Single-Induced Emo, both songs remind me of the simple joys of liking a girl, and the daydream that one day some pretty girl with a gentle spirit and beautiful soul would *gasp* actually like me back. First up we have Tiffany The Mall Queen. Hers is a cover, I believe, of some oldies song. The lyrics are cute.. A tale of (I’m guessing) teenage love–Romeo and Juliet stuff. The idea of letting love just sorta steal you away from all of life’s bullshit is the theme. Just her and her dude (or chick, she doesn’t really specify) hiding away and holding on to each other, banding together against all the confusion, angst, and fear that comes with The Human Experience.

Belinda Carlisle’s song might be my favorite of the two. Belinda used to be a bangle, but this was her first solo hit (followed up by “Mad About You”, I believe). The beat is actually pretty hard. Some power-ballad guitars and hard drums combined with a gentle piano in the background. The lyrics are upbeat and powerful and positive. I mean, they’re so happy and triumphant that they could charge up a whole tank of happy Mood Slime (Step Your Ghostbusters 2 Game Up!). To me, her voice has always been pleasant and soothing, and the idea of being so much in love that you actually feel like you’re in heaven is comforting in itself. At the risk of an overshare: This is the kind of song that reminds me of the first time I kissed a girl. I was all smiles and happiness and I swear my feet didn’t touch the ground for like 2 days. I know everyone on the internets is supposed to be all Tough and whatnot, but ya know what? This is It Ain’t That motherfucking Serious, and I’m gonna say how I feel when I feel how I feel, you underdig? Anyway, Viva la Mushy Music. It beats the crap out of the songs coming from female “artists” nowadays. “I Think We’re Alone Now” > “Promiscuous”, and “Heaven is a Place on Earth” > “Fergalicious” every day allll day.

Peep Disssssss:

Tiffany- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxsTrbI6NrM 
Belinda Carlisle- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQahvFdQVu8

5- Michael Jackson, Man in the Mirror- If you’re not moved by this song, just click that little “x” in the upper right hand corner. I mean, seriously, you’re definitely on the wrong blog. This song is a mid-tempo ballad about the… Aw, fuck it. I shouldn’t have to explain this song. It’s heart and soul personified. It’s Michael Jackson in his prizzime, before all the bullshit. The first 30 seconds of the song still gives me chills, and by the time the choir kicks in at about the 2:50 mark, I’m all ready to follow MJ to the ends of the earth, putting right what once went wrong. Just a kid from Indiana and his Fat Hispanic counterpart–like Sam Beckett and Al, word up.

Peep Disssssss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BW5BsSEnzro

***

Call Reynolds, Cuz it’s a wrap.

So there ya go. My picks for some awesome songs from the 80s. There are gads more great songs out there that came out between January 1st, 1980 and December 31st, 1989, but these are the ones I felt like rocking with for right now. Check out the links and throw your diamonds in the sky if you feel the vibe.

Also, I know there isn’t any rap on here, but to be honest, I didn’t start checking for rap ’til “O.P.P.”. Make your peace with it.

Thanks for checking in.

–RTH

Biggity Bizzonus Trizznacks!

Here are 2 songs that I think are equal parts sweet and exceptional. It’s true, I’m a mushy Emo bastard, and these songs help make that a little easier. That’s the thing about love/sweet booty songs.. When they’re genuine, they make you feel better, whether that’s helping you express how you feel about someone you’re currently with, helping you reminisce over a love gone but not forgottetn, or giving you hope and an outline for your next great Love.

Neither one really needs an introduction, so happy clicking…motherfuckers.

Alicia Keys’, No One-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ktUSIJEiOug

J. Holiday, Bed-
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BV7PFX_GOZA

32 Responses to “*Ghostrides The DeLorean*”

  1. cMac Says:

    I read it

  2. green eyes Says:

    nice post rey..i love degarge and that song was still is my shit.

  3. D. Billz Says:

    I got the best of DeBarge in the crib. “I Like It” will always be a personal favorite. Most of the martial arts heads know “Rhythm of the Night” from The Last Dragon Movie (“who’s the baddest?” SHO’NUFF!”). But here’s my concern from this post:

    the Hall and Oates (don’t even)

    Yo, how are you gonna diss arguably the Top 3 as far as soulful white dudes?! “I Can’t Go for That” should be on everybody’s list. “Rich Girl” (which was used as a great sample on the Young Gunz 1st album feat. Juelz)? “ManEater”? I know it’s YOUR list, but I’m just sayin’ fam! Billy Ocean also gets an honorable mention. But yo, one of my favorites that goes under the radar (that I couldn’t think of for shit, one night, and had to ask LandLORD if he remembered it because the melody was stuck in my head but couldn’t remember the group) is Loose Ends “Hangin’ From a String” (ironically, we were in one of eskay’s rare Loose Ends threads when we were tryin’ to figure it out). That joint is one of my personal favorites and I wanna kick the shit outta any random person on Myspace for not uploading it so that I can use it for my page [Sidenote: For the clown who disabled the Add feature for Kwame’s “Ownlee Eue”, I hope you get a yeast infection in your ears].

    I know my post seems like a verbal snuff/roundhouse, but I’m a self-proclaimed 80’s head, so yeah… it is that surrrrous for me. All verbal attacks aside, I gotta give you props for the Deniece Williams joint. I wouldn’t mind addin’ it to my page, but I don’t know if it would require a disclaimer to hear “lets hear it for my boy” while perusing my profile. The only time I ever remember to google that song is when one of those random “buy this bullshit ass 80’s compilation” commercials come on. I didn’t know she had a video for this song. But then again, we didn’t get cable in our crib until around ’92.

    Overall, good post chief. Btw, I hate J. Holiday’s song because it’s every-gotdamn-where and I think the concept is corny. But Alicia is wifey and I like everything she does. Ok… I’m done… for real… this time…

    *stomps feet*

    *drops mic*

    *points while walkin’ to the exit*

  4. reythehussein Says:

    Oh Jeez.. The Mayor finally stops by my site and he gives me the ol’ “Fornicate with your sofa, ninja!”. Let’s see… The Last Dragon is my shit. Me and my brother couldn’t be in a swimming pool without re-enacting the water barrell scene.. Billy Ocean is cool, but I just can’t vibe with H&O. Seriously. When “I Can’t Go For That” plays in my boy’s car (he’s one of the cheesy 80s music fans, I gotta hit skip. I’m sorry! I’ll have to look up the loose ends. An aural yeast infection sounds awful, but I’m pretty sure Soulja Boy already causes them. …and is it just me, or would “Let’s hear it for the boy” have made a great DipSet song (pause) in like 2002?

    As for J. Holiday, I just kinda like that spacey, ethereal sound to it.. Kinda reminds me of Ginuwine’s “Differences”.

    I love Alicia Keys enough to drop FOB like a bad habit if she insisted.

    “This boy’s good!” “Yeah, good and terrible.”

  5. reythehussein Says:

    @ Greenita.. I can’t believe I haven’t downloaded that song yet. I think I’m purposefully not acquiring Rhythm of the Night because I like being surprised when I get to hear it. Diluting of Joy = 😦

    *daps cMac*

    Thanks to everyone for checking in

  6. LL(not the rappa) Says:

    lol..great post rey…couldnt be an 80s post without Mike..and for some reason Debbie gibson popped in my head..lol,wow

  7. reythehussein Says:

    Oh man.. Debbie Gibson was totally on my mind!!

    I was gonna put “Lost In Your Eyes” as the last song, but I figured I went all Emoverboard (uh oh! we have an addition to the lexicon!) with the Tiffany and Belinda Carlisle post.

    Hmm.. You think James Todd Smith has his online handle as “LL (not the commenta)”? Things that make you go, “Hmmmm…” indeed!

  8. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Lionel Ritchie?????????????????????????????????????????????????

  9. T DOT Says:

    EXACTLY.
    WHY HATE ON LIONEL!?
    I’m disappointed rey.

    Great post tho per usual.

  10. EnglandRepresent Says:

    I got tickets to go see Lionel on 2nd December…….ooooooooh weeeeeeeee……gonna take my chick and give her some proper sexual healing………..

  11. reythehussein Says:

    Hmm, I was picking some of my more obscure or forgotten favorites.

    However.

    “Dancing on the Ceiling”, “All Night Long”, and “Hello” are all amazing. No hate on Lionel!

    Thanks for checking in, Gents!

  12. reythehussein Says:

    Yeah BOY!

    This that chick with the nice britols from the other day? Propsss!

    If she isn’t feeling amorous by the time he’s done with “Hello”, she might just be an android.

  13. benhameen Says:

    nice post rey…but dissing hall and oates is a no no..go listen to sara smile, and they were far from one hit wonders..kiss on my list?
    oh yeah new shit up at my spot. real talk

  14. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Yeah Rey Rey this the girl who I was with on Friday night. Musta been doin something right cos I spent all day with her on Sunday. Am so chuffed with my effort cos she is a feckin knock out, gorgeous looking girl with no ego. I’m so proud of my effort I’d e-mail you a pic of her but that would be breakin some sort of moral code.

    How was the weekend for you Reymundo?

  15. reythehussein Says:

    @ Mr. Meen–I never said Hall and Oates were one hit wonders! If they got grouped in with that stuff, that’s my bad. I just never got into their music. I fancy myself as fairly eclectic overall, even if it’s more of a Singles Chart than an Album chart, ya know?

    @ EngRep– Heh, a pic isn’t necessary, Cap’n. If you say she’s a dime I won’t dispite it. Is “Chuffed” like “proud”? I like learning global slang. Pretty with no ego is a good find. Most pretty girls ’round here know they’re pretty and are either rude or nice but disingenuous.

    My wknd was pretty ok… Late nite Friday nite at the bar, yesterday was dinner with friends, today was movie watching and a late late dinner. Not bad a’tall.

  16. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Reymundo I’m breaking moral boundaries here but there’s a pic on its way to your inbox. You still around?

  17. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Reymundo? Anyone? Bueller?

  18. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Disingenuous is a good word Rey Rey. Yeah thats the way of women isn’t it? In the words of Mike Skinner from The Streets ‘You’re fit but my gosh don’t you know it’. Pretty girls are always up themselves.

    But there are some tasty wenches in NY so if you get ’em drunk enough there’s always a chance you’ll get some poonany

    Chuffed = pleased with

  19. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    Phil Collins is the absolute shit, and Genesis has done a ton of cool songs. The beat to this song is definitely aggressive content. Programmed 80s drums with some crunchy guitars and some well placed synths all kicked ass. The lyrics on this song were edgy and confrontational, and Phil Collins emotes the fuck out of them. The chorus is the ultimate in sing-along awesomeness….

    ^^^^^^^^

    True dat, Genesis & Phil Collins music gods!!!! Phil Collins is the absolute shit and Genesis had a few cool tracks.

    “Invisible Touch” has to be the best Genesis song ever though…(really bad video though)

    Michael Jackson, Man in the Mirror – Fuck i went through a phase of listening to this song on repeat when i was about 14,15 after finding it one of my friends mix cd’s it’s the shit…

    Anyways good post Rey-Rey…. Keep it up!!!

  20. thoreauly77 Says:

    um, the hall and oates one hit wonder diss was unnecessary! belinda carlisle was a go-go, not a bangle! exclamation points!

  21. reythehussein Says:

    lol @ EngRep– Sorry homey, sleep got me. I think the nicer pretty girls are the poor ones. It instills that humility in them that makes them more likely to be an actual friend. I knew a ton of pretty girls in high school that were all very sweet. Mostly cuz Brentwood is a middle class tizzown. I’m pleased with my NY chicks, but if “Coupling” taught me anything, it’s that British chicks standards aren’t nearly as high as US chicks are. (no shots fired!). Alas, I received no e-mail. Did you send it to r_rod04@yahoo.com?

    @ Busta– Yeah man.. Phil’s catalogue with and without Genesis is thorough. I get into quarrells from time to time over who was better, Phil or Elton John, and you gotta believe I’m reppin’ Phil. “Invisible Touch” is cool, I caught him performing that on LiveAid this year (on tv, not in person). “Man in the Mirror” is just an awesome song. While I’m sorta surprised nobody’s covered it, I guess I can see why it’s been left alone.. MiJac isn’t the strongest singer in the world, but I can’t really see anybody performing that song better’n’him.

    @ Thor– Dangit! I had no idea Hall & Oates had so many fans. I knew Belinda Carlisle was a Go-Go, but sometimes I get them and the “Walk Like an Egyptian”ettes confused. 3 Points for Thor.

    Thanks to all for checking in!

  22. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    ha ha a new advert that just came on the tv!!!!

    Enjoy: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iKdQC-hbY7k&mode=related&search=

  23. thoreauly77 Says:

    belinda carlisle was also the drummer for seminal LA punk band The Germs, known then as “dottie danger”. she is one of my classic crushes.

  24. reythehussein Says:

    @ Busta– LOL.. That was great!

    @ Thor– Oh yeah, B-Carl is definitely hot.

  25. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Phil Collins!!!!! How could I forget Big Phil (nh)…

    Gensis are the shit.

    Rey Rey check ya mail I been sending it to the wrong e-mail

    and

    *ducks @ the shots fired about English dudes*

    Coupling is a TV show Reymond, English dudes got charm by the barrel load. But you’re right UK chicks don’t really give a shit about what the dude looks like as long as he’s got banter. Australian girls are like American ones which is unfortunate.

  26. thoreauly77 Says:

    “Australian girls are like American ones which is unfortunate.”

    you mean hot and multi-ethnic? suspect erep, suuuuuspect!

  27. reythehussein Says:

    @ EngRep– I got banter for days!

    lol @ Thor

  28. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    reythehussein Says:

    October 8th, 2007 at 5:59 pm
    @ Busta– LOL.. That was great!

    @ Thor– Oh yeah, B-Carl is definitely hot.

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    @ Rey – You know it, Phil Collins just entered the uk singles top 20 chart again because of this advert!!!

    @ engrep – But you’re right UK chicks don’t really give a shit about what the dude looks like as long as he’s got banter. Co-sign!!!

  29. State of Grace Says:

    I have that DeBarge album on vinyl. It’s such a visual assault, something that can’t be truly appreciated until you see it full-size. Then the question becomes, who has the best moustache? And is that dude in the green really wearing yellow socks?

  30. reythehussein Says:

    I think the girl has the best mustache.

    LOL.. Green socks indeed! Gotta love the 80s.

  31. State of Grace Says:

    “I think the girl has the best mustache”

    ^^After years of discussion (we used to roll weed on it), my friends and I reached the exact same conclusion

  32. reythehussein Says:

    LOL

Leave a Reply

