Happy Birthday, Turk!

Turk&JD Pimpin'

No, not the character. Or Donald Faison.

That would be Turk (on the left), and J.D. from Scrubs.

I’d like to give a special birthday shout out to my best friend in the whole danged world, “Chris Turk”. Of course, that’s not really his name, I’m giving him a codename just in case. My boy is a teacher and the last thing he needs is for me to say his government name in the middle of retelling some random-ass wacky story thus getting him in trouble with the brass.

Anyway, I know the concept of “Best Friends” seems kinda silly at our respective ages (him 26 today, me 27 two months ago to the day), but the fact is that they’re called “Best” friends for a reason.

They’re the ones that understand us the best.

They’re the ones that know us the best.

They’re the ones that are the best at accepting our faults, and forgiving us for them.

They’re the best at never passing judgment.

They’re the best at sharing their faults and their follies with us, either out of seeking comfort, or to relate to us in a way that makes us see that (sorry) It Ain’t That Serious.

You can call them whatever you want: Your dog, Your ace, Your mans’n’em, Your boy, Your homeboy, Your homeskillet, and my personal favorite: Your home-wok. The names may change, and the “For Appearances Only” bravado might stick around when other people are present, but when it comes down to it, the theme is the same.

The theme of “This is my brother (or sister), and we’re in this together.”

So, all you Gangsta Azz Thugs and Down Azz Bitches, take a second to slam down an E-Shot with me in honor of a guy who’s been there for me when girls did me dirty, when I needed money to keep the lights on, when my dog F.R.E.D. ran away–only to actually find my puppy and bring him back to me, and to be there by my side virtually every step of the way in this fucked up, crazy-ass journey we call life.

To “Chris Turk”, the best friend anyone could ever ask for.

L’CHAIM!

[||]

–RTH

7 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Turk!”

  1. EnglandRepresent Says:

    Whoa. Your manz found your dog when he ran away? Thats a good mate regardless. My dog is a fuckin SAS trooper who when he goes missin blends into the background and goes undercover. Took me a week to find him last time. And he’s white staffy. Go figure. Well Happy Birthday to Chris Turk I guess. Now go get drunk.

  2. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    This is the reason why your headache didn’t go away: That’s actually pronounced analgesic, not anal-gesic. Sir, the pills go in your mouth (c) Chris Turk

    Happy Bday Turtleton….

    Get your drink on!!!!

    Peace.

  3. Big Homie Says:

    From me to you Rey (pause):

    http://www.myhangover.wordpress.com/2007/10/11/incarcerated-scarfaces/#comments

    My latest post on OB4CL

  4. reythehussein Says:

    @ EngRep– Yeah man.. Pops was walking F.R.E.D. and he just tore away (there was a dog in hear nearby).. Both pops and I looked for him, but we couldn’t find him. Turk goes errand-running and decides to swing by the scene of the crime and happens to spot him in a different kinda area. I’m in the middle of feeling bad about the whole thing, utterly miserable, and the door opens and in runs my dog. I don’t think we would have found him otherwise. That woulda sucked too, because prior to that, I got dumped, PLUS, my dog is the son of a Dog we had, so we’ve raised him since birth.

    Friggin’ dogs gettin’ me all eeeemooootionaaallll!

    @ Busta– LOL.. Yeah man, I’ll be having a drink with Dr. Turkleton ASAP.

    Thanks for checking in, gentlemen.

  5. reythehussein Says:

    LOL @ Big Homie.. Thanks man.. (why I oughta..)

  6. woodro Says:

    youtube.com/watch?v=tECCvdWEweA

    quick note…i was blessed with good friends iv had the same 40 hardcore group of friends that are at every show iv done…we go and throw parties for eachothers birthdays…we’ve all been friends since Jr high school…its crazy but true…its almost pathetic how we have parties with the same people year in and year out..but friends..how many of us have them

  7. reythehussein Says:

    Yes sir, me as well. I managed to find a good group of friends, the core of which have been rocking together for the last decade.

    I’ve been fortunate enough to add to the collection every year, so it’s become quite the army.

    Thanks for checking in.

Leave a Reply

