“Sometimes you gotta blow up a bus, or a building…”

NWH

“…or a whole buncha mu’fuckas!” –Tasty Taste (played by Larry B. Scott, center), Fear of a Black Hat

Peep the article about the movie at the site I stole the pic from here.

I had a grand ol’ time with the ranting and raving of my last entry, but I think it’s time I went for another random post.

This one is just stuff I’ve been pondering, mixed with little updates and random factoids.

Enjoy.

1- So I did a lot of pondering about the entry I put up yesterday. I got a ton of good feedback and I’m looking forward to trying some advice out. The general theme is that I need to quit trying so hard, quit going after silly ass girls, and not bust out the Emo until I find a girl that actually deserves it. “Rey’s Conscience” & landLORD had some particularly good points in specific, but all feedback was helpful.

2- I saw American Gangster tonite. Unlike the apparent majority of you guys, I waited until it was in the theater to see it. Watching a bootleg DVD or seeing it on my computer screen just wasn’t gonna do. Honestly, shame on ya’ll. Anyhoo, I loved the movie. I dig flicks with good casts–and I was down for seeing it even before I peeped the trailer and had Heart of the City get me amped up for the film. Denzel was, of course, awesome. I thought Russell Crowe did a good job playing the not-so-straight arrow cop (as in morally straight arrow, no subliminal “Ayo”). I’d love to see some Oscar nominations for this movie, but who knows if the MPAA will recognize it.

3- As for Jay-Z’s American Gangster concept album, I’ve still only heard 2 songs off of it, Blue Magic and Roc Boys. I like both of them, and the accompanying videos for both tracks are awesome–Roc Boys in particular. I plan on copping this album, and most likely AG’s actual soundtrack, Thursday or Friday. Which meeeaaannns you guys can expect a review of Hova’s album sometime this weekend.

4- Random Fact– I love bottled water. Seriously. No nasty-ass Vitamin Water or Gatorade or any of that. Gimme some Poland Spring and I’m good.

5- Dr. Beardhussein’s Brunette Can-Get-It List- Mary Elizabeth Winsted (Live Free or Die Hard, Grindhouse’s Deathproof installment), Rachel Bilson (The OC, The Last Kiss), Sophia Bush (One Tree Hill, John Tucker Must Die), Anne Hathaway (Havoc, The Princess Diaries, The Devil Wears Prada), and finally, Katharine McPhee (2006 American Idol runner-up).

6- Brunettes I Used to be Crazy About- Neve Campbell (Scream Trilogy), Katie Holmes (Batman Begins, Dawson’s Creek), Jennier Love Hewitt (The Ghost Whisperer, I Know What You Did Last Summer series)

7- Random Fact– My ringtones right now are: Journey’s Don’t Stop Believing for text messages and Your Love by The Outfield for calls. Both are songs this cover-band I like happens to…um…cover. For a while, Kanye West had both spots on lock: Can’t Tell Me Nothin’ for texts, and Stronger for calls.

8- Jim Jones is a fucking idiot. This asshole gets a one hit wonder song with We Fly High, and thinks he’s a big deal. His album drops and he assaults Jay-Z for some shine, and then believes that people actually give a shit about him. Now, he just signs this ridiculous deal that he won’t be able to live up to, and when Jay has another album dropping, he attacks him some more. Jim Jones is fuckin’ pathetic, plain and simple. Dude knows his career has peaked with his little novelty hit, so he resorts to getting shine by jumping in Jay-Z’s spotlight. Amazing. Give it up, Capo. You’re embarrassing yourself. Shogun of Harlem Sho’Nuff > Dirt Angel.

9- The Knicks are 2-1 after beating Denver tonite. I’ve made it known that I hate James Dolan and Isiah Thomas, and that I think Stephon Marbury is an idiot. I’m just hoping the rest of the team plays hard enough [||] for me to start giving a shit about them. From the 1992 NBA Playoffs all the way thru mid-2006 I was a Die-Hard Knicks fan, but after the Larry Brown debacle I became disgusted with the entire organization. It used to be that anything less than an exciting playoff run would be huuuge disappointment, but honestly, nowadays all I want to see is some hustle so I can respect the team again.

10- In the order that I’m looking forward to hearing them: American Gangster > The Cool > The Greatest Story Ever Told > Nigger > 8 Diagrams. Seriously, if Nas actually does drop The N-Word in 2007, this year’s fourth quarter might be better than last year’s when Diddy, Game, Nas, and Hov all dropped.

Call Reynolds, Cuz It’s a Wrap.

Alright kids, that’s it for today. I hope you dug my bloggical stylings. Feel free to leave all kinds of feedback.

Thanks for checking in,

–RTH

21 Responses to ““Sometimes you gotta blow up a bus, or a building…””

  1. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    Dr. Beardhussein’s Brunette Can-Get-It List- Mary Elizabeth Winsted (Live Free or Die Hard, Grindhouse’s Deathproof installment), Rachel Bilson (The OC, The Last Kiss), Sophia Bush (One Tree Hill, John Tucker Must Die), Anne Hathaway (Havoc, The Princess Diaries, The Devil Wears Prada), and finally, Katharine McPhee (2006 American Idol runner-up).

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^

    You forgot the hottest brunette of 2007 = Megan Fox, shame on you Rey..

    I was a little dissapointed with AG(movie). I think i built it up to much. I just thought it was a bit slow and just as it was getting going it ended..

    The only album i interested in hearing this year has been 8 Diagrams i just hope it’s good….

  2. Jazze Fett aka JANGZ Says:

    I’m feelin the shit u said (nh) about university being social. All i do is get on the drink till finals then stop for a week…but on some real i thought u woulda gone coz u seem pretty smart and no to u haters that think im getting on some emotional shit GTFOH.

  3. reythehussein Says:

    In reverse:

    @ Jazze Fett– Firstly, if there’s anywhere on the internet that somebody can get “Emotional” and still talk epic amounts of shit about whatever they want, it’s here. Second.. I’m sure I coulda found something to pique my interest, but my heart wasn’t in it. College is expensive and you really gotta want it to justify the expense. There’s still time tho’, my pops is in his 60s and he graduated at the top of his class 2 years ago.

    @ Busta– Dangit! I can’t believe I forgot Megan Fox! She definitely makes the list. As for AG, I liked it..I thought I’d have a negative view going in because of some of the NR regs saying it was just average, but I dug it. I’m looking forward to the Wu Tang album, but Rza’s production has always been hit or miss for me..I’m still copping first week (if not first day) tho’.

    Thanks to both for checking in!

  4. Big Homie Says:

    I thought AG was a dope movie as well and the album is crazy. I was shocked to see the Knick beat the Nuggets, but more shocked my Wizards (pause) are currently 0-3. Jim Jones who?

    Fiji and Aquafina > Polland & Deer Park

  5. reythehussein Says:

    @ BH– Dude, Fiji water got me to spend $3 for one of their little ass square bottles and I didn’t like it. Kinda salty (nh). Aquafina’s good tho’.

    I fucking hate Jim Jones.

    lol @ “Wizards” having a disclaimer. B’yeah, season is young, but I wanna get back into the NBA.. I watch more baseball nowadays but basketball is still my favorite sport.

    Thanks for checking in, Big Homie.

  6. Phuque Says:

    4- Random Fact– I love bottled water. Seriously. No nasty-ass Vitamin Water or Gatorade or any of that. Gimme some Poland Spring and I’m good.

    ^^^

    Portland Tap > Poland Spring

    Good post as usual, home skillet.

  7. reythehussein Says:

    @ Phuque– *tips hat*

    *awaits fitted joke*

  8. Phuque Says:

    @ Phuque– *tips hat*

    ^^

    *takes bus to car*

    *takes car to boat*

    *takes boat to helicopter*

    *takes helicopter to jet*

    *takes jet to bicycle*

    *rides bicycle to NASA*

    *ghostrides the space shuttle*

    *orbit*

    *FINALLY makes it out of the way of Rey’s fitted*

    Close one…

  9. ReyTheHussein Says:

    Shit.

  10. State of Grace Says:

    I think I’d rather listen to Jim Jones than Journey. I’d even listen to the REAL Jim Jones over Journey (actually, that would be really interesting). The douchometer is off the charts when Journey starts turdin’ it up like fresh links squoze into my morning cereal. American Gangster is great though, I think I’ll go to the store right now, get blazed in the parking lot, and let it ride out. I gotta see the flick soon too, so for the rest of this week please try to tilt your head to the right so your fitted doesn’t block out all the screens.

  11. reythehussein Says:

    LOL @ S of G.. and the Huge Fitted jokes find another home at It Ain’t That Serious. Son of a bitch.

    Dude, “Don’t Stop Believing” is awesome. Plus, I would rather listen to the sounds of my own strained attempts at shitting than hear a full Jim Jones (dipset) song.

    AG (movie) was awesome. A good ride the whole way. AG (album) shall be copped tomorrow or Friday. Can’t wait for that one.

    Thanks for checking in!

  12. EnglandRepresent Says:

    I have’nt heard any tracks off AG nor have I seen the movie, Think I’m gonna cop both as and when/if they ever fuckin make it out here. Backward ass Upside Down Town.

    lmfao @ Phuque and SoG.

    *looks out of window*

    *sees solar eclipse*

    It can’t be

    *Looks closer*

    *Realises it just Reymundo rolling over in his sleep*

    Good post Rey Rey

  13. reythehussein Says:

    @ EngRep– LOL.. That was good.

    Yeah, both are dope. What’s the usual delay between US release dates and Aussie release dates?

  14. JANGZ Says:

    Usually Aussie dates arent that bad but I checked the store the other day and no AG in site unless they had it like out back or some shit…

  15. reythehussein Says:

    @ Jangz–Mmm.. I think EngRep said it was like a two week delay, I don’t recall exactly.

  16. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    Rey’s fitted is so big, it’s got an echo…..ha ha

  17. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    Dude, “Don’t Stop Believing” is awesome. Plus, I would rather listen to the sounds of my own strained attempts at shitting than hear a full Jim Jones (dipset) song.

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^

    co-sign,

    Jim Jones needs to be “Faaalllliinnng” out of an Aeroplane sometime soon..

  18. reythehussein Says:

    lol @ Busta Cracka The English Smacka..

    LOL @ the “echo”, and Cosign the 2nd. I don’t want him to be hurt, but I would like him to enjoy the divine intervention and devote his life to religion. He could become a monk and take a vow of silence!

    *LI to Scotland daps*

  19. State of Grace Says:

    “Make Jacob shit on the Range Rey’s fitted just to make me a chain” – The little homie – “Success”

  20. The XFacta Says:

    Stop supporting bootleggers! Also OUR Knicks will goto the playoffs this season (Still Trying to keep a straight face)

  21. JANGZ Says:

    Dont forget snoop dropped last quarter last year

Leave a Reply

