Rest In Peace, Donda West

Kanye and Donda

Sometimes it’s quite serious.

*sigh*

I click on Yahoo!’s homepage to check out my personal e-mail. I see “Kanye West’s Mother Dies”. I say, “You gotta be fuckin’ kiddin’ me.” I click around.

I see this: http://music.msn.com/music/article.aspx?news=283724>1=7702 .

I think to myself, “That sucks. Kanye’s gotta be a fuckin’ wreck right now.”

I think to myself, “I know people are gonna talk slick about this.”

I think to myself, “I was gonna use ‘Hey Mama’ (from Kanye’s Late Registration) as the song I dance with my mom to at my wedding.”

I think to myself, “Kanye was probably gonna use it too, but now he can’t.”

I get sad.

I think to myself, “Bol’s gonna mock this sad event in a post…and I won’t ever get the opportunity to beat him with a fucking sledgehammer for it.”

*sigh*

Rest in peace, Donda. Your son’s music has helped shine light on some truly dark, dark times in my life–and that’s one of the many, many reasons your passing is a sad one.

–Rey

8 Responses to “Rest In Peace, Donda West”

  1. EnglandRepresent Says:

    R.I.P. Dr West. Any mother passing away is a sad state of affairs especially considering these two seemed to have a close reslationship. Kanye must be losing it right now.

  2. Big Homie Says:

    I was so shocked when I heard the news. Very tragic and I am sure he is taking this hard [ll] *Hey Mama plays*

  3. JANGZ Says:

    yeah funny how it was so out of the blue like there was no mention of cancer or anything like that. I guess we will have to wait for the cause of death. RIP

    1

  4. Busta Cracka The English Smacka Says:

    *Pours out a little OJ*

    Dam, never good to hear news like that…

    R.I.P

  5. Soul C Says:

    I heard that this was a cosmetic surgery gone wrong type of deal. Must have been complications while she was knocked out.

    Sad, sad story. Never before has a rapper been so open about the respect and love he has for his mother. She was his manager, his best friend, all of that. This will hit dude hard.

  6. E aka FidelCa$hflow Says:

    Never before has a rapper been so open about the respect and love he has for his mother.
    ^^^^
    ever heard of a guy named 2Pac?

  7. The XFacta Says:

    I was a foster kid and never had my moms, but I know this is some hard shit to deal with…

  8. Rey’s Artist of the Year for 2007: Kanye West - Chicken Wings, Ya’ll Says:

    […] passed away on November 11th, 2007 from complications from a cosmetic surgery procedure. I was saddened deeply for Mr. West. As someone who uses music as fuel for his everyday life, I’ve converted […]

Leave a Reply

