Can’t…Stay…Away…

pookie

The bloggin’ be caaaallllliinn’ meeee!

Where’s the danged pepto? I did something all kindsa wrong to my stomach this week cuz it’s been all kindsa weird since Monday or something.

I mean, it could be from all the excitement–baby brother got in yesterday, wedding at 3:30p, reception at 8p, rendezvous with friends at Mulcahy’s around midnite–but it could also be the epic amounts of crap that I eat.

Either way, it’s a busy day in the life of Dr. Beardhussein and, as such, I couldn’t sleep very well from the antsy-ness. I’ve been up since 7:20am (it’s 8:55am now) and I figure blogging while The Road Noog is asleep is ok. Besides, I owed you guys one anyway.

Enjoy.

Well, it looks like the Ever-Expanding, Neverending List of Awesomeness is a great success. I’m very happy and very appreciative of you guys contributing to the list. This is one of 3 blogs I write, but this is the one I think I take the most pride in.

Rey’s Blogs-
1- My personal Mi Espacio blog. This one serves as my journal, my diary, my triumphs and sadness and talking to myself and junk. It’s where all the stuff that’s too emo for this page goes, plus I keep my real-time friends updated on all the minutia (spelling?) of my life.

2- Alumnah. I’m pretty excited about that one. I think if we can blog on it consistantly we can build up a good audience. The talent is there, the desire is there, it’s just a matter of putting on our hardhats (noooone) and putting in the work.

3- IATS. I’ve said to friends that this is the one that I use to try to change the world. I know we spend a lot of time bullshitting about music and movies, but I also think this little site has a good heart and good message behind it. Indeed, the world can be fucked up and cynical, but this is my middle finger to all the sarcastic, snarky, gossippy, too-cool-for-school blogs that seem to be all over the place. Me and my fellow IATSoldiers aren’t afraid to *gasp* Have fun!

***

A Few Random Thoughts-

~ I can’t fucking stand Isiah Thomas. At all. Or James Dolan. The shit is getting fuckin’ ridiculous with the New York Knicks. FIRE ISIAH! MAKE DOLAN SELL THE TEAM! I’m almost happy now when the Knicks lose because that means Isiah is that much closer to being shitcanned–and this is coming from a guy who used to live and die with every game the Knicks played.

(one epic twosie and a liberal swig of generic pepto later)

~ I’m listening to Graduation as I type this. Why? I’m glad you asked. I was oogling the pictures of an ex of mine that got married. She’s hot, but it stirred up all kindsa angst and stuff, and I fucking refuse to be Emo and shit while my brother is home, nevermind a day of Joy with my cousin’s wedding and seeing Drop Dead Sexy with friends non-blood family. Soooo, I’m using a talisman of mine (Kanye’s music) to ward off the fuckery. *b-boy stance*

(now throw your hands up in the sky-yyyy)

~ I bought a black dress shirt and black pants yesterday for the wedding. Cost me $90. Or, in better terms, cost me my entire budget for fun (ballin’ on a budget, holla!) while my brother is home. I didn’t even buy some fly shit. I don’t have a suit, so I figured a black shirt and black pants with like a red tie would look good in pictures and with me playing the background. Problem was/is, when you’re as big as I am, the “Big & Tall” store is your only option, and that MoFo is expensive. *sigh* I mean, I’m gonna look good, but I wish I coulda done it cheaper. C’est la vie.

(i guess the money shoulda changed ’em, I guess I shoulda forgot where I came from)

~ My friend The Zigg Show is awaiting the arrival of his first child, a boy, any day now. I gotta admit it, man. I’m a sucker for babies and weddings. I know that’s typically girl stuff, but there’s something about those 2 events that (most of the time) really stir up some good feelings inside. Maybe it’s the culmination of grown-up dreams? Maybe it’s finding forever? Who knows?

(Let the champagne splash, let that man get cash, let that man get passed)

~ Fuckin’ window in pops’ room doesn’t stay open by itself. I discovered that earlier today, and now my index, middle, and ring fingers on my right hand are all sore. I have a pretty disgustingly high tolerance for pain, but that still hurt.

(Became the hood favorite, I can’t even explain it…*ahem*…Barry Bonds)

~ Anyone ever see Johnny Dangerously? It’s an Airplane-esque mobster comedy starring Michael “Batman/Beatlejuice” Keaton. It’s set in the 1930’s, made in the ’80s, but still quite funny indeed. I DVR’d (TiVo provided by the cable company for those who didn’t know) it over the weekend but finally watched it on like Wednesday. Good stuff.

(I’m not sure anymore-more, Who is knocking at my door-door)

~ I beefed up the Graduation playlist by adding “Good Night” right after “Barry Bonds”, and “Bittersweet Poetry” right after “Flashing Lights”. I feel like it gives a nice “Talkin’ ’bout a girl” subplot to the album:

1- Kanye leaves his girl-next-door chick in “Good Night”.
2- ‘Ye and Mos Def go hunting for some “Drunk and Hot Girls”, find some, go steady.
3- The girl Kanye gets with can’t handle being with a Star, so things start falling apart in “Flashing Lights”.
4- Kanye and the girl break up and argue and junk in “Bittersweet Poetry”.

That, of course, leads into “Everything I am”, which is ‘Ye being all reflective and junk. Heck, we all get a bit philosophical when we break up with and (after long enough) get over a girl.

Anyway, just wanted to share that bit of Graduation fan-fiction. Also, No, I don’t do the Fan-Fic thing–that’s really f’n nerdy. I just thought it’d be fun to give the additions to the album a backstory.

***

Call Reynolds, Cuz it’s a Wrap.

Alright kids, that’s it for today, probably for the weekend too. Have a good weekend, and raise a glass, shot, or bottle for me, my brother being home, and my cousin Joey who’s getting married.

In turn, I will proudly toast to my faithful readers–of the commenting and lurking variety.

L’Chaim!

–RTH

PS- Keep adding to the Everexpanding, Neverending List of Awesomeness!

4 Responses to “Can’t…Stay…Away…”

  1. BUSTA BONDS Says:

    UNO…

  2. BUSTA BONDS Says:

    Have a good weekend chiefton…

    Peace….

  3. reythehussein Says:

    @ Busta– lol, you too Fam.

  4. Busta hook to the ex's babymaker Says:

    Drinking is goooood….

Leave a Reply

