Rey vs VH1’s List of the Top 100 Songs of the 90’s.

The Chronic

It Ain’t That Serious’ Analysis of #’s 50-1.

A fair warning: This will be long and talky and from the perspective of a guy who likes pop music and hates shit that he’s “supposed” to like.

I’ve been following along with VH1’s “Top 100 Songs of the 1990’s” countdown since Wednesday nite. The 90s have been my favorite decade so far and I seem to recall a lot of the people, places, and things that happened then much easier than I am the current decade, or the decade what preceded the 90s.

Watching this VH1 special brought back a lot of memories and stirred up a lot of feelings. I decided that, rather than just sorta offer thoughts on the songs I could remember, I’d just give my thoughts on every song.

So, without further ado, here is the conclusion to my analysis of this list. This is #’s 50-1, so if you’re starting now, getcho’ ass back to my Alumnah.com blog to read my thoughts on #’s 100-51.

Here we go:

50. Alice in Chains “Man in the Box”- Um…Yeah. I don’t know this one. Well, I do a little bit, but that’s because Beavis and Butthead had the video on once.

49. Jewel “Who Will Save Your Soul”- Jewel’s debut song was pretty okay. Her voice went from weird yodel to pretty coo (that’s “coo” as in “gentle noise” not “coo” as in “an abbreviation for ‘cool'”), and I enjoy the gentle singing. The video was hot because Jewel was (and still is) hot, and she had (and still has) an extraordinary rack. I enjoy “Hands” and “You were meant for me” more, but I’m Emo like that.

{I’ve just realized that Boyz II Men doesn’t appear anywhere on this list. I think I’m pissed about this. Boyz II Men’s “End of the Road” and Snoop Doggy Dogg’s “What’s My Name?”–along with Nate Dogg and Warren G’s “Regulate” should all be on here. Fucking assholes.}

48. Matchbox Twenty “3 AM”- I have nothing against Matchbox 20 or Rob Thomas, but this song did nada for me. If anything, “Push” should’ve made the list cuz I actually liked it. Any of the 3 songs I mentioned in the {}’s are > 3AM.

47. Marky Mark and The Funky Bunch “Good Vibrations”- I don’t give a fuck what kind of abuse I’m gonna take for saying this. I. Love. This. Song. It’s so much fun. It’s a nice montage song, it’s a sing-along song.. It’s the kinda song that comes on when you’re in the car and you crank up the volume and yell it out at the top of your lungs. “DONNIE D’S ON THE BACK UP! DRUG FREE, SO PUT THE CRACK UP!”.

46. Shania Twain “You’re Still the One”- First and foremost, Shania Twain is flippin’ hot, and the issue of Maxim with her on the cover is one of the best things to happen to my Baking Life since…well…ever. As for the song, this is another one that I kinda like but kinda don’t. I think I heard it too much, or maybe it came out during a funky time in my emo-life. In any event, it’s not bad in a wedding-song kinda way.

45. Hootie & the Blowfish “Only Wanna Be With You”- Fucking Hootie and Blue Traveler BOTH make the list, but Boyz II Men and Seal’s “Kiss From a Rose” don’t? Anger…rising… Anyway, this was a good song with a classic video featuring anchors from ESPN’s 1995 “SportsCenter” lineup, as well as athletes like Dan Marino and Charles “WHY COULDN’T YOU MAKE ONE FUCKING LAYUP???” Smith. Hootie is in my cool book. Fun Fact- This song is hard as fuck to sing at Karaoke.

44. The Fugees “Killing Me Softly With His Song”- Woooo! Pre-Insanity Lauren Hill! “One Time!”. This song was awesome. Lauren made you feel her pain on this joint right here. Great, powerful remake of a just-ok Roberta Flack song. This is the kinda song that can come on in a barber shop and you won’t get clowned too bad for singing along.

43. En Vogue “My Lovin’ (You’re Never Gonna Get It)”- This was a good one. These girls could sing. They weren’t as hot as I remember them, but that’s neither here…nor there.

42. Collective Soul “Shine”- Ugh. I never liked this song. Ever.

41. Spin Doctors “Two Princes”- More fun music! This is another great road trip song. It totally reminds me of the 1993 West Middle School Wild Video Dance Party.

40. Color Me Badd “I Wanna Sex You Up”- This song was dope. Very sexy, no pun intended. Plus, Nino Brown had it as booty music in New Jack City. As I recall, their whole album was good. Funny lookin’ dudes in the group, but not as funny lookin’ as All-4-One–who ALSO shoulda made this countdown!

39. Goo Goo Dolls “Iris”- Ah, the Emo jam off of the 1998 City of Angels soundtrack. Great song. Big huge ballad with an anthemic chorus and amazing musical arrangement. I wanna sample this.

38. Christina Aguilera “Genie In A Bottle”- I discovered this song late, as I didn’t really pay attention to pop music for the first 6-8 months of 1999. Christina Aguilera has one of the best voices in music today, and she showed her range in this pop tune. Plus, she was hot. She’s still hot now, but she gives off an Ice Princess kinda vibe. Plus, her breast implants are funny–her boobs look off-center. C’est La Vie.

37. Green Day “Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)”- Another Rey Karaoke Hit. I liked this song a lot. Good lyrics, good chorus, and I really enjoyed the violin in the background towards the end.

36. C+C Music Factory “Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)”- Ehh…Even tho’ this is basically the precursor to Marky Mark’s hit at #47, I don’t like this one as much as Mr. Wahlberg’s. This song seems kinda gay dancer-ish to me now. RIP, One of the C’s. (spinal meningitis–scary stuff).

35. Oasis “Wonderwall”- Just to get this out of the way: I know, they’re a Beatles rip. Awesome. I still like this song. The Gallagher Brothers are dysfunctional as fudge, but this is still a good tune.

34. Third Eye Blind “Semi-Charmed Life”- Third Eye Blind and Matchbox 20 were practically interchangeable back in Fall 1997. I gotta give 3EB the nod tho’ because of this song and “Graduate”. My boy Maverick does this song at Karaoke and it always kills. Admit it–at some point all of you, even my sarcastic readers, have “Doot Doot Doot Doo”‘d along with this tune.

33. Spice Girls “Wannabe”- I would nail all 5 Spice Girls into oblivion, you better believe it. This song ushered in the 1997-2000 Pop Era that dominated the charts while rap sucked the big one. This is a fun song. Fun counts for a lot as long as it’s not annoying ass dance-move fun. Then again, ya’ll already know how I feel about this song.

32. BLACKstreet “No Diggity”- I liked this one too. Dr. Dre’s rap was cool. The piano rumbles were cool. Queen Pen was alright. This song was huge in fall 1996. I could’ve done without the eventual oversaturation of the “No Diggity” catchphrase, but the song was good.

31. Radiohead “Creep”- This is the only Radiohead song I like. I don’t really care how that sounds. Fuck Radiohead.

30. *NSYNC “Tearin’ Up My Heart”- *sigh* You just… I mean, I… Well… Alright, let’s get it out of the way. I like boy bands. I don’t like them in the “OMG I LOOOOVE THEM!” sense, but I like pop music, I like fun music, and I like cheesy love songs. A lot of the shit these groups did was goofy and uber-calculated, but back in 1999-2000 I didn’t care about impressing anyone, so I liked what I liked and didn’t worry about it. This is one of those songs that I liked. If you wanna give me shit for it, please read the name of this particular blog and then promptly hit the little red X in the upper-right hand corner of the screen.

29. Vanilla Ice “Ice Ice Baby”- You know the song. You loved it when you were 8,9, or 10. Don’t even pretend you didn’t.

28. Ricky Martin “Livin’ la Vida Loca”- I remember in Prom 1999–I went with my hot friend V-Cat-T. I didn’t dance–bad or otherwise–back then, but Faith Evans & Puff Daddy’s “All Night Long” came on and I was inspired to dance, as my Puffy Standom was still formidable back then. V-Cat-T said her feet were hurting so she sat that one out. I sat there bopping in the chair doing the “Where’d my keys go?” dance I stole from Puffy in the video. 2 minutes after that one is done, motherfucking “La Vida Loca” comes on and V-Cat-T forgets allll about her hurtin’ feet and gets up on the dance floor and loses her mind to asshole Ricky Martin. Needless to say, I was annoyed. Fuck Ricky Martin.

27. Counting Crows “Mr. Jones”- Woooo! Another winner from 1994. Good song right here. How good? Like, “Nailing Jennifer Aniston AND Courtney Cox” good. Fun Fact- I used to sleep with the radio on when I was younger and one nite this song came on. Apparently, I heard the song whilst asleep and it found it’s way into my dream. However, instead of “Mr. Jones and Me”, the song playing in my slumber went “Howling stones and me”. I have no idea what that means. *adjusts tie* Moving on!

26. Eminem “My Name Is”- I remember not being impressed one little bit by Eminem. He was just some white boy that made stupid songs that other white people laughed at. I remember wondering what the hell Dr. Dre was thinking. 8 years later, I still don’t really like this song altho’ I’ve come to appreciate most of Marshall Mathers’ post-Slim Shady LP to pre-Encore work.

25. Soundgarden “Black Hole Sun”- I hated this song because the video scared me. I’m convinced people liked this song because of the video and that’s about it. Fuck “Black Hole Sun”.

24. House of Pain “Jump Around”- aka an Irish Drinking Rap song. Not a bad song at all, but after hearing it for 15 years I am quite, quite sick of it.

23. Salt-N-Pepa with En Vogue “Whatta Man”- Salt-N-Pepa ran shit back in 1993-1994. This song, “Shoop”, and “None of your Business” dominated the airwaves. This was a hot video with En Vogue and S&P walking around all scantily clad and whatnot. The song itself was good too.

22. Beck “Loser”- When this song came out in 1994 I was unimpressed. In retropackle, I’d probably like this song more now than I did then. I’m no real Beck fan, nor am I a hater. Beck seems to strive to be different without being pretentious *cough*Timbaland*cough*, which is nice. Plus, Kanye interpolated the chorus on “Get ‘Em High”. (eerily enough, that’s the song win-amp shuffled to just as I was going to look up the name).

21. Celine Dion “My Heart Will Go On”- Brilliant song. The arrangement was incredible. The music itself was beautiful and haunting at the same time. The lyrics were kinda simple, (“Near, far, wherever you are”) but Celine performed the fuck out of them. I’m sure State of Grace has put his fist thru something by now, but I gotta keep it real: This was a good song–even if 12 year old girls liked it too. Oh, and just to ether whatever pretense of coolness I might have? I like about 6 Celine Dion songs, while only liking 1 Lil’ Wayne song, and Zero Clipse songs. Keep it real, thy name is Dr. Beardhussein.

20. Hanson “MMMBop”- Once again: Hanson played their own instruments and wrote their own songs. Gotta respect that. Plus, I saw them while on a date (with a girl, shut up) back in 2004, and the older hotter chicks in the crowd f’n loved them. “MMMBop” makes about as much sense as rappers saying “Peace” at the end of a 4 minute song about killing and selling drugs, but it was still a good song.

19. Beastie Boys “Sabotage”- Ugh. This song was loud and noisy and annoying. The video was funny tho’, so people ran out and bought this album. Pisses me off. I liked the follow-up single, “Sure Shot” infinitely more.

18. Metallica “Enter Sandman”- Another scary song that kinda passed me down. I respect Metallica tho’.

17. Destiny’s Child “Say My Name”- Beyonce and Co’s 1999 hit off of The Writing’s On the Wall. Aside from how hot Beyonce and Kelly are, I could’ve done without most of the DC music. I did like the little pre-chorus, fast-singin’ part to this song tho’.

16. MC Hammer “U Can’t Touch This”- Big pants. The Rick James sample. “My my my music hits me so hard!”. Awesomeness. Everyone should know the words to this song.

15. Red Hot Chili Peppers “Under the Bridge”- Anthony Kiedis’ love song to L.A.. I think this might’ve been over my head when it came out, seeing as how I was 10. Not a bad song. I like the soft beginning part more than the loud ending part.

14. Mariah Carey “Vision of Love”- First Album Mariah Carey > Every other Mariah Carey. Sure, she had no boobs back then, but this girl made some great music. This song was sweet, smoky, and powerfully performed. Mariah’s got the best voice in music IMO, and this song is f’n proof.

13. Dr. Dre (featuring Snoop Doggy Dogg) “Nuthin’ but a “G” Thang”- This is my pick for #1. This song changed the musical landscape forever. Like, Forever. Infinitely more than the fuckin’ overrated suck-fest that those fuckers did put at #1. I mean, who doesn’t love this song? The lyrics were catchy and smooth, and the beat wasn’t just a beat, it was music. I’ve heard this song as many times as Crazy88 has had restraining orders put on him, but if this song came on right now I’d still sing along and enjoy the vibe. This song almost makes me forgive Dre for signing Curtis Jackson. Almost.

12. Alanis Morissette “You Oughta Know”- Ah, and here we are at the National Anthem for the Republic of Angry Girls. Alanis provided every jilted girl ever with a song to play over and over until they feel better. This song was kinda scary, too. Who knows how many cars were keyed after a nite of listening to this on repeat? Altho’, I did tingle in new places when she said “Would she go down on you in a theater?”.  Alanis is still hot, and could give me mouthskies during a matinee any day of the week.

11. Pearl Jam “Jeremy”- Once again, the 90’s were great because you could have a song with heavy subject matter become a hit.  The topic of”Jeremy”? Some poor kid who got picked on and bullied coming into school and offing himself in front of his classmates. I almost feel bad singing along to this, but Eddie Veder and Company made a great song–regardless of the tragic content.

10. Sinéad O’Connor “Nothing Compares 2 U”- Bald Sinead covers Prince. Talk about emoting during a song. Sinead really goes in on this one. Her performance is so genuine, so heartfelt.. It’s hard not to feel her pain. Good song, good delivery, and a simple-yet-elegant video.

09. R.E.M. “Losing My Religion”- This one was kinda weird. I mean, it’s a good song, but I’m not really sure what the heck it’s about. I know “Losing your/my religion” is a down southism for losing patience, but still. The video is about a fake angel that falls down to earth…and some house…and rain. I dunno, man.

08. TLC “Waterfalls”- Ugh. I hated this song. I get it, I get it. She’s got AIDS. Shyheim aka The Rugged Child gets shot. Awesome. It still wasn’t a good song. The beat was ehh, the lyrics and chorus were plodding, and it was sooo heavy handed. I think people only liked this song cuz they felt all smart when they figured out that “waterfalls” and “rivers and lakes that you’re used to” were metaphors. “Ooooh…On the TLC Tip” > “CrazySexyCool”. RIP Left Eye.

07. Britney Spears “…Baby One More Time”- Wow. This might be the hottest video ever made (right up there with Mariah Carey’s “Fantasy”). The song was all kindsa jailbait sexy. Britney did this cool tongue-flicky thing when she said words that had an “L” sound in them. This song is sooo on the list of “Songs I wanna fool around to”. (Other notables: Janet Jackson’s “If”, TLC’s “Red Light Special”, and Sophie B. Hawkins’ “Da**, I wish I was your lover”). This tune kicked off Britney-Mania, a phenomenon that–9 years later–has yet to subside.

06. Sir Mix-A-Lot “Baby Got Back”- The best Karaoke song ever. It doesn’t even need an explanation.

05. Madonna “Vogue”- This was one of Madonna’s last songs before she became a british-accented, S&M’d, preachy, annoying-music making…person. The song was okay. Definitely not Top 5. Heck, Boyz II Men’s “I’ll make love to you” or “End of the Road” is/are waayyy better than this.

04. Whitney Houston “I Will Always Love You”- Wow. If you were near radio or MTV back in late 1992, early 1993 it was almost impossible to avoid this song. Whitney doesn’t so much as perform the song, as she blasts it to the moon and back. I can only imagine how many weddings kicked off with this song right here. Altho’, for my money, “I Have Nothing” was nicer than this one.

03. Backstreet Boys “I Want It That Way”- This song was and is awesome. It kicked off the Boy Band explosion of 1999-2002 (even tho’ they had already went diamond off their previous album that dropped in 1997 or 1998). I managed to avoid MTV and Top 40 radio for most of this song’s reign, so I probably didn’t hear it as often as people who paid attention to that stuff back in ’99. BSB could actually sing, and while they did have some super-duper cheesy, pandering songs, most of the songs they performed had original, non-cliche lyrics that delighted the average girl everywhere–as opposed to corny ass *N’Sync who pandered to ADD-ass little sisters of those girls. Fuck *N’Sync. Anyway, the deep, dark Backstreet Secret is out. However, I challenge any one of you guys to hear this song and not know at least part of the song. BITCH!

02. U2 “One”- I know a few U2 songs. This isn’t “one” of them. Sorry. I like the band, I just didn’t pay any attention to this when it dropped in 1991.

01. Nirvana “Smells Like Teen Spirit”- Look, I get that this song was some kind of orgasmic joy for the late teens and early 20-somethings that paid attention to this kinda shit. Me? Not so much. I couldn’t understand what Kurt Cobain’s ass was saying, I wasn’t impressed by the grungy ass lyrics, and the instruments sounded funny. I mean, okay, so in the early 90s white kids everywhere were bored and disillusioned, so these guys were the shit? I’m supposed to pretend they actually influenced artists that make relevant music today?

Um, No.

The fact is that if Eddie Veder would’ve killed HIMSELF in 1994 and Kurt Cobain lived, people would be going bonkers over the “Ten” album just the way they go apeshit over “Nevermind”. Nirvana never impressed me, and I don’t give a shit what some snarky asshole says in the comments section about it: “Ok sure fag go kill urself u like the backstreet boys but nirvana sucks? foh”. This song was trash, and it baffles me that peope go nuts over this shit. Great, it was awesome during your junior year in high school when you needed to find yourself most. Or, awesome, freshman year of college had a soundtrack, and it was garbled, distorted crap. A-Ma-Zing.

Finally, to the douchebag commentator on the VH1 special that said something to the effect of, “It was the return of real music, no more hair bands and it was great”–allow me to retort: If that  is what made this song and Nirvana so great, then maybe Fred Durst should’ve killed himself 2 months after Woodstock 1999. That way, all the angry white boys from the next generation could spin “Significant Other” all somberly and remark on how “Limp Bizkit rose up against the boy bands! That was the return of real music!”. RIP Kurt Cobain.

Well, that’s it for Part 2. Hopefully you already read part 1 over at My Alumnah Spot, but if you didn’t, get to clickin’!

–RTH

10 Responses to “Rey vs VH1’s List of the Top 100 Songs of the 90’s.”

  1. State of Grace Says:

    Total of 6/100 on the list were Canadians., but you guys tend to stick to the shittiest of us. Way more Celines and Nickelbacks than Neil Youngs and The Bands. The ones on the list are SMILFy McLachlin, Celine Dion, Shania Twain, Snow, Barenaked Ladies, and Alanis Morissette (who America never got to experience when she was just Alanis and singing Tiffany-worthy dance pop).

    I saw Oasis live last year. I can’t really say everything that happened during the concert as it was all very, very illegal, but know that they put on a fucking good show.

    I love that Sinead O’Connor song. Way better than the Prince original. Those are strange words to say but anyone who’s heard both knows it’s true.

    As for Nirvana, the 80s was an era of pop megastars, with Prince, Madonna, and MJ being the holy trinity. Rock n’ roll had become largely irrelevant and douchebags in eyeliner took glam rock to ridiculous levels forgetting that Bowie moved on after a few years. Pop metal was what made the charts, with Guns N’ Roses being the band with more metal than pop (not to mention actual good songs) that got the biggest of all. But they were still rock stars in the iconic sense. Then along came three guys in flannel shirts, taking drugs and bashing the fuck out of their instruments, and they knocked MJ off the top of the charts and took rock n’ roll in the opposite direction that Guns N’ Roses had been taking it, back to the gritty, raw power of punk rock. So just like in the 70s when the original punks made loud, angry distorted music to rail against the overblown 20 minute progressive rock epics that had turned rock n’ roll into a bloated pathetic mess, Nirvana represented a sea change in popular tastes.

    Pearl Jam wouldn’t have been as huge had Eddie Vedder shot himself, (even though I would personally hold Eddie Vedder Is Dead! Parties every year to celebrate) because Nirvana created the path they drag their asses on like dogs on a carpet. As for influence, Nickelback, the worst thing Canada has EVER produced, has sold 7 million copies of their latest heap of shit by being really, really watered down Nirvana, going from quiet to loud but without any of the rawness. Nirvana is really emo, I’m a little surprised you were so against them. Emo doesn’t have to mean soft and sensitive, Nirvana were emo in a way that evokes John Lennon’s primal scream therapy in the early 70s, howling out anxieties. Of course, shortly before he offed himself they also recorded an unplugged album that was pretty emo, with candles, sweaters, and everything. Dave Grohl in a turtleneck if I recall correctly.

    Oh, and a few weeks ago I went grocery shopping kinda stoned and as I walked around the store over the speakers this song is playing and I notice I’m drumming along on my cart and bopping through the aisles for a bit before I realize what song it is. MMMBop. I despised the song and Hanson when they were popular, but then, I was a teenager into punk rock and it got played 500 times a day. Now, with years separating the last time I heard it, I was like “holy shit, those kids knew how to construct a fucking pop song!” It’s ok though, because once I got in the car I threw on Yung Ig’nant’s Ice On My Nutz mixtape to the track Swallow Deez Keedz. Sing along!

    Swallow deez keedz bitch
    Swallow deez keedz!
    Swallow deez keedz bitch
    Swallow deez keeds!

    If I skeet it near yo pussy
    Then ya might get preg’nant
    I ain’t raising no keedz
    Bitch I’m Yung Ig’nant!
    Put my keedz in yo belly
    And I’ll ice out yo necklace
    Might give you a pearl one
    If I’m feelin’ reckless
    Got ice on my nutz
    So I can light up yo night
    You can call me the dentist bitch
    I’ll make yo teeth white
    Snort cocaine off yo titties
    When I wanna get high
    Order you Chinese food
    Cream of Sum Yung Guy! Ha!

  2. Phuque Says:

    08. TLC “Waterfalls”- Ugh. I hated this song. I get it, I get it. She’s got AIDS. Shyheim aka The Rugged Child gets shot. Awesome. It still wasn’t a good song. The beat was ehh, the lyrics and chorus were plodding, and it was sooo heavy handed. I think people only liked this song cuz they felt all smart when they figured out that “waterfalls” and “rivers and lakes that you’re used to” were metaphors. “Ooooh…On the TLC Tip” > “CrazySexyCool”. RIP Left Eye.

    ^^^

    What in the blue FUCK.

    First off — Lisa Lopes’ best verse evar (it’s even written on her gravestone). I can recite that shit word for word…and I’m damn proud of it.

    That song and video was one of the best joints they’ve ever done. That album was solid too….maybe not enough of the first album “sound” you wanted, but (surprise) Dallas Austin is a little bitch.

    I really can’t believe you’d pick a fuckin’ Backstreet Boys song over “Waterfalls”….wow….

    *storms out of room in disgust*

    *no disrespect*

  3. reythehussein Says:

    LOL @ Phuque.. Wow, I touched a nerve huh? (none) To be fair, I don’t mind Left Eye’s verse at all. I give “Oooh…” the nod because I really liked that album. I happen to think “Creep”, “Diggin’ on you”, and “Red Light Special” were all good songs. ‘Has nothing really to do with the album not sounding like the first one. Boyyyy!

    @ S of G- Okay, I can appreciate that Nirvana breakdown. I just remember never being really impressed with them at all. The rest of the hostility was a result of me writing that post for 3 hours sitting on an uncomfortable computer chair.

    It’s about time Hanson got some props! Even if the music they made was fluff, at least it was THEIR fluff and not corporate boardroom, pandering fluff.

    LMAO @ the Yung Ig verse. I didn’t know the “Ice on my Nutz” mixtape leaked!

    Thanks to Grumpy Phuque and sigga State O’ for checking in!

  4. State of Grace Says:

    Here’s how neurotic I am: As I fell asleep last night, all I could think was “dammit! that “ice on my nutz” line was a perfect opportunity to make a ‘ballin’ joke and I WASTED it!” SMH @ myself.

  5. reythehussein Says:

    LOL… I’m sure that, after many years of therapy, you’ll be able to forgive yourself.

  6. superjew Says:

    the fact that “if i ruled the world” isnt on this list is blasphemous. but why am i aggy this shit is vh1 what do they know

  7. reythehussein Says:

    Ahhh maaannnn! That’s ANOTHER good one!

    *grumbles*

  8. Hot Aural Sects - Chicken Wings, Ya’ll Says:

    […] greatness. Oh, plus, those dickheads over at VH-1 left Boyz II Men COMPLETELY OFF THEIR LIST OF THE 100 BEST SONGS OF THE 90′S!!!! If that’s not fuckery of the highest order, I don’t know what is. […]

  9. Kalin Says:

    Ehh. You may want to reconsider your position on Nirvana. Truth is, at that exact time, highly superficial music was what had been in the mainstream for a long time. While that song itself may not be totally stellar, it is symbolic of a huge shift in popular music. By the way, Boyz II Men is nearly unlistenable, I wouldn’t trip too hard about it.

  10. reythehussein Says:

    I’ll give you that, but I disagree with BIIM. Exceptional harmonies and vocal ability, and they had some really well-written songs. Music that people can relate to is important, whether it’s “Holiday in Cambodia” or “I’ll Make Love To You”–People wanna go, “Wow, me too!”.

    Thanks for checking in.

Leave a Reply

