Late Nite Rizzamblings

Dr. Beardhussein Kicks It In The On-Call Room After Hours

(yes, it’s a couple of llamas. *points to name of site*)

It’s Go Time.

Sooo, it’s 1:41am on Sunday, May 10th, 2009. I’m wide awake because I got my full alotment of sleep last nite, and I took a nap for about an hour and a half this afternoon. Therefore, I figured I’d drop some words of wisdom for the 4 or 5 people that still read this thing.

Enjoy.

***

1- I saw “Star Trek” today. It was awesome. As most of you probably already know, I’m not a Trekkie. I’m a Star Wars dork. That being said, I totally dug the relaunch of “Star Trek”. Exciting action sequences, likable and root-for-able characters, and enough nods to the original series to keep the old school Trekkies happy. I give it four stars.

2- Playing with “Star Trek” were trailers for a few movies I can’t wait to see:

A- “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen”. Quite simply put, I’m looking forward to this movie like I looked forward to the new Star Wars movies. It got to the point where, right before the awesomeness of “Trek” started, I thought to myself, “Ehh, I’m sure this is gonna be good, but it’s not gonna be as good as ‘Transformers’ is gonna be.” Yep, rare air indeed. Usually it’s only Star Wars anticipation that makes other movies just aight to me.

B- “Night at the Museum 2: Something Something Smithsonian Ben Stiller”. I really liked the first “Night…” movie. Ben Stiller’s patented slow burn-into-hysteria still works after all these years, and his “deadpan straight matter of fact delivery when you expect wackiness” bit is top notch. Lots of cool new historical figures to have fun with. From the trailers, this reminds me a lot of those all-CGI flicks where the supporting cast is more interesting than the main characters. *cough*”Madagascar”*cough*. Well, except for the fact that B dot Stiller is still bringin’ it.

C- “GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra”. First off, ya’ll know how I works with the loyalty. My faves are my faves, and everything else can be appreciated and enjoyed–sometimes greatly–but if someone praises the enjoyable appreciated flick whilst knocking my fave, I’ll cut a mu’fucka. That being said, while I liked the cartoon version of “GI Joe” (up until the movie–which I didn’t see–cuz after that they switched stuff up and it was ehh’sville for me), I liked “Transformers”‘s cartoon better. Sooo, during the buildup to the first “Transformers” flick, I was giddy. I remembered a lot about the show and would have no problem accessing that file when the movie came out. “GI Joe” tho’? Ehh, I don’t remember a lot of it. Gun to my head I can recall names of characters and what some of them looked like, but I haven’t retained that much “Yo Joe!” knowledge. Anyway, this trailer was pretty cool–they obviously put some money and some effort into this adaptation. Here’s my prediction tho’: This movie is either gonna be the next “Transformers”…or the next “Street Fighter”. That’s right, the Jean Claude Van Damme-as-“Guile” “Street Fighter”. This I know…and knowing is half the battle.

D- “Terminator Salvation”. What I dug: Christian Bale, interesting story, resurrection of one of my favorite franchises, cool action scenes. Why I shrugged: Some of the killer robots looked laughably big. Like, I expect it with “Transformers” (altho’, truth be told, some of the new robots in “Transformers” looked a bit too big as well), but Terminator? Ehh, I just can’t see a super-intelligent computer make a big huge robot that looks awkward. I can normally suspend disbelief, but this one makes me snap out of the “Ooh, Ahh!” zone and go, “Wait, what?”. In any event, I’m so seeing this, as I’m convinced it’ll be awesome. Plus, that BUM BUM BA BUM! BUM BUM BUM BA BUM!-thumping loud march music is so awesome that I’d watch an episode of motherfucking “Grey’s Anatomy” (which I hate as much as MK/State of Grace hates movies I love) if it had it. Can you imagine that? The skinny girl from “Old School” is talking to Ronald “McWhatever” Miller (aka Patrick Dempsey) when all of a sudden BUM BUM BUM BA BUM! BUM BUM BUM BA BUM! The other McWhosits comes in for a dramatic showdown! Sheeit, that’d work way better than the acoustic music bit (which they stole from “Scrubs”–more on that later) they…but I digress.

E- “Up”. From the homeys that brought us “Wall*E” comes “Up”. Look, ya’ll can go check the archives from last summer. I fucking LOVED “Wall*E”. It was a-m-a-z-i-ng. Therefore, until they make something that looks preposterously stupidly bad or unentertaining, Pixar flix are (see what I did there? I rhymed. That’s a surefire sign of a dope part-time rapper/blogger) entering a state long time readers know…as the “Samuel L. Jackson Rule” zone. (you can look that one up too). So yeah, I’m gonna see this. It looks funny, and Pixar flix are (ahh? ahhhh?) always clever. Except for “The Incredibles”, which I thought kiiiiiinda sucked.

Anyway, that’s m’rundown of my movie trip today.

***

1- Sooo, I’m not sure how blasphemous this is, considering it’s the world I fancy myself a part of, but um, is it wrong that I don’t give a shit about 95% of the stuff posted on all these hip-hop sites? Seriously, I don’t care. Music? Sure. I like music. I like free music. News? Awesome. Give me some legit news about upcoming albums, collabos, tours, movement in terms of labels, and other relevant stuff. But some asshole giving his opinion about some dumb shit? That’s not news. Seriously. Would Eskay link to my blog? To this entry? Probably not.

I dunno. It’s probably not even relevent, but I’m just ambivalent to the majority of the stuff that gets posted. I like rap, and hip-hop is still the culture I identify with, even if I stopped paying attention to the trends and styles back in 2004, when those stupid long t-shirts came into play, but…*sigh*

I just don’t give a shit about the majority of it. If people do care and like being up to date on beefs, videos, and other stuff that’s completely idiotic but might be kinda funny to the rap fans on the web, then good for them.

I just wish rappers would stop catering to those people, those sites. They hate bootleggers and file sharers–and let’s face it, that’s killing rap, along with the white aryan mofos that propelled it to huge sales (because racism is still prevalent in their parents and nothing says “rebellion” like Corey and Erica listening to motherfucking DMX) grew out of it as soon as their rebelling stage was done–but, *gasp* THE NET MOFOS ON THE BLOGS AND IN THE COMMENTS SECTIONS ARE THE ONES ZSHARING THE FUCKIN’ MUSIC!

Jackasses.

***

1- I’ve got a cruuuusssshhhh.

Yep, I’ve got a crush on this INCREDIBLE girl that I have 0 (zero) shot with. She’s pretty, she’s got beautiful eyes, and we have a ton of stuff in common, from random preferences to philosophies. She’s smart, she’s funny, she’s got a great outlook on life, her family is important to her, she’s loyal to her friends…

…she’s also completely outta my league. That’s not a self-deprecating, “This way to DepressedLand!” kinda statement. It’s just true. I’ve got 0 (zero) fear of asking her out, and while I think she’s an amazing person, I doubt she’d have any interest in me.

I mean, okay, on paper–I’m not a terrible catch. If I had a baseball card, you could flip it over and check out my stats and see that I’m super-mega-awesome BF material. The only thing is, you flip it around, and…I’m fat. lol, Yep, juuust a bit. I’m okay with being fat, and in fact, I’ve lost some weight compared to where I was last summer), but I know she can probably find any number of dudes with better tangible stats (ie a dude less sweet and thoughtful and funny, but who has more than a dollar fifty-six in the bank) who is also in better shape.

Ah well. I’m in good spirits overall, and I feel like my life is moving in a good direction, and I like having someone to get all butterfly-y about, even if I don’t have a shot of going out on a date with her. Plus, who knows? We could end up becoming good friends, and as long as the friendship isn’t established in the bloody wake of a rejection, I like being friends with girls. They don’t make fun of me for enjoying watching romantic comedies in fleece pants whilst eating chocolate haagen dazs.

Yeah, I said it.

***

Call Reynolds, Cuz it’s a Wrap.

Alright kids, that’s it for today. I hope you enjoyed my ramblings and revelations. Oh, in other real quick news, the harpie shrew ex of mine whose baby I wasn’t the father of got married, apparently. I’ll be honest, it sucked royal donkey nuts, but after Crush Girl IM’d me today on the facebook, and after looking at pictures of my nephew, I’m pleased to report that I’m back to kicking ass. Consider my swag on.

As always, comments, questions, critiques, and your memories of GI Joe can be left below in the Dr. Donda West-Christopher Wallace Memorial Comments Section.

“I don’t believe in ‘No Win’ situations.”–James T. Kirk.

–RTH

3 Responses to “Late Nite Rizzamblings”

  1. Joe Badilla Says:

    Dude! I’m not a trekkie either, (Wookies > Klingons) BUT I’m psyched to see Star Trek now. And another thing, this Summer WILL be awesome!

    Peace/Love

  2. EnglandRepresent Says:

    I just don’t give a shit about the majority of it. If people do care and like being up to date on beefs, videos, and other stuff that’s completely idiotic

    ^^I co-sign this. I gives no fuck about hip-hop anymore other than hip-hop concerts I can attend. Fuck all the other random shit. Pleased you’re on the up fella, stay positive and all that. *daps*

    • reythehussein Says:

      @ Joe Badilla– Thank you for the positivity, kemosabe!

      @ EngRep– Yeah man. I just wanna hear news on the MUSIC, not that other crap. *dappage*

Leave a Reply

